Femme FATale


it seems i’ve been tagged – twice!
October 20, 2008, 12:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

last week, while i was working tirelessly on my second prelim paper, y’all were playing a fun game of blog tag that i kept up on, but didn’t have a chance to participate in. this is late to say the least, but i’m slowly catching up on life outside of exam-writing…for the time being. i still have another one to go. the lovely queer rose and colleen both tagged me so i’ll do a total of 14 random facts to satisfy the masses. here goes:

The Rules are:
1. Link to your tagger(s): Queer Rose, Colleen, and list these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog – some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blog.
4. Let them know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

1. i can’t sleep with my feet under the covers. whether it’s 90 degrees outside or -30, my feet are always sticking out from under the sheets and blankets when i sleep. my feet get hot really easily and i hate, hate, hate feeling all stuck. someone sweet once told me feet were like “little furnaces.”

2. i’m addicted to daily, online comics. i never knew i was such a dork and frequently made fun of an ex who used to read whole comic books, but dinosaur comics, xkcd, natalie dee, married to the sea, and toothpaste for dinner make my day.

3. this whole academia thing is a total front. what i really want to do is move to portland and open a bakery with my mom called “two tough cookies.” the boxes would be hot pink and would somehow incorporate our home state of new jersey (thus the “tough” in the cookies!). our specialty would be cream puffs.

4. when i was five years old i was possibly nearly kidnapped. i was visiting family on long island and my cousins and i went out for a bike ride except they were all older and on two wheelers and i was still peddling around a tricycle. they got too far ahead of me and i lost them and was by myself wandering the streets and crying because i wasn’t a city kid at the time and didn’t understand the concept of a block (i.e. if you make 4 lefts you wind up where you started). some old man told me he’d take me home and offered me junior mints. i dropped the bike and ran screaming down the sidewalk. i suppose he could have just wanted to help a hysterical child on the street.

5. i really like invoking catchy phrases from generations past: i.e. “rat bastard” when someone is a total jerk, “schtoopin'” for doin’ it, and “wreck of the hesperus” for someone who looks a total mess.

6. for the most part, the people closest to me, are the ones furthest away geographically. that makes my heart ache a little bit.

7. the third day of kindergarten, i received a black eye from a boy whom i notified could not continue playing with me at the dollhouse if he was going to continue throwing the furniture out of the house and across the room.

8. the next day, when he was walking down the bus steps in front of me, i grabbed onto the railing, hoisted my tiny leg outwards and kicked him off the last two steps. he didn’t talk to me again until high school.

9. you know that line in the classic film, “the parent trap” where hayley mills is sniffing her grandfather’s coat as she’s embracing him and he asks her what she’s doing and she replies, “i’m making a memory. years from now, when i’m all grown up, i’ll remember my grandfather and how he always smelled of peppermint and pipe tobacco”? i do that all the time with the people i love. most don’t notice cause i’m stealthy.

10. i’m not one who believes we have a “love of our life” or any kind of meow meow like that, but sometimes when i’m not even thinking about the future or relationships, i get this overwhelming sense of a person i haven’t yet met who i just know is going to knock me off my feet. i feel you out there, in the universe, and i like it. i’m onto you.

11. i feel like i might have to give in and just realize i’m never going to be one of those femmes who can apply false eyelashes. it’s a blow to the ego, but i think i’ll make it. can’t someone on the femme’s guide give a tutorial?

12. one of my proudest achievements, which i buried under memories as having been nothing big and or exciting, is that at the age of 15 i designed and ran a riot grrrl website which received tons of traffic and led to me publishing a weekly digest of national riot grrrl news, book reviews, cd reviews, events etc. to about 100 readers. i don’t know how or why i forgot about how awesome this was until about a year ago.

13. i am a clasically trained pianist who passed on her audition at julliard because she wanted to study gender studies instead. my parents didn’t talk to me for a week.

14. my very first “girl crush” was on sue milliken, a t.v. chef on the former show “too hot tamales.” i didn’t even know she was a big ol’ d then, but i knew there was something i liked about her and found desirable. now she kinda just reminds me of ani difranco. also, what person in the early, early teenage years finds t.v. chefs attractive? weirdo.

because i’m a week late, i’m not going to tag anyone, but feel free to comment and link your list here if you’re self-tagging. xo for now, friends! i promise i’ll crawl out from under my rock here and there. i’ve been working on a post in my head for the past few days entitled, “what i will do with my life post-prelims.” “blog more,” is near the top.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ummm, if you move to portland and open a jersey themed cookie shop YOU BETTER HIRE ME!!

you’re so *obviously* first on the list! i expect you to bring nothing short of your big, bad attitude to this future customer service position! two tough jersey femmes and a tough jersey mama? we’re in business, sister friend! xoxo.

Comment by givemespacetorock

1. me too, me too. I almost always have one foot out. I also cannot wear socks to bed unless it is completely bone-chillingly cold. I am the human furnace. I cause people in bed with me to sweat just because I’m under the covers with them.

2. I read xkcd too! HI-larious and kinda disturbing at times.

8. tough cookie, indeed.

9. I’m not nearly that subtle.. Love to take that deep inhale and absorb a loved one’s scent. Scents are such a good memory trigger.

12. that is awesome! I was more of a witness to the riot grrl thing, being in one of the epicenters of riot grrl culture, Olympia WA. Some very kick ass things happened around that movement.

13. very impressive, both that you had that skill and that you followed your dream against your parent’s wishes.

14. hahahahaa… well, given your dream to open a bakery, why wouldn’t you crush out on TV Chefs?

In a couple of months, I expect you to have forgotten you shared all this and be astounded when I bring up some of this trivia while we’re chatting 😉

hahaha, touché!

Comment by Kyle

I’m glad you had a chance to join in on the fun! Better late than never, I say.

1. I am so jealous of your hot feet. My feet are always, always freezing in bed, no matter how many times I fold the covers over onto themselves with my “little ice cubes” all wrapped up.

3. I really think you should move to Portland. I’m serious about this. You should follow your heart. Portland is the best place on earth, and I’m not just biased because I live here, either. I’ve lived lots of places and Portland is better than anywhere else. My apologies to all the people living elsewhere, but I just can’t tell a lie.

5. Last night at our potluck, Agent said as someone was leaving: “Thanks for coming and don’t let the door hit ya where the lord split ya.” It seemed old school to me, but she might have just made it up. My girlfriend is really funny like that.

6. All our best friends are also far away. Sometimes I just want everyone to show up and be together again, if just for a day. I did successfully get everyone to show up in San Francisco for Agent’s 30th surprise birthday party and that was one of the best weekends of my entire life.

7 and 8. Remind me to never throw your furniture around.

9. I love smelling people too, but have never done it consciously. I think this is the best idea anyone’s given me in a really long time, and I’m excited to try it out. I just hope that I can be stealthy like you, otherwise I might seriously embarrass myself.

12. This is quite impressive. It’s funny how we accomplish so much and then just file it away. Sometimes I think, oh yeah, I did play professional women’s football! Inwardly, I give myself a knowing grin of satisfaction.

Good luck with your schoolification. Glad you could come out and play for a mini minute!

Honey

Comment by honey

What a coincidence–the whole academia thing is a cover for me too. What I really want to do is become a professional makeup artist. Speaking of which, the false eyelash thing just takes practice. But from what I hear, Diorshow Iconic Mascara really gives a false eyelash look. If you’re serious about the tutorial I’ll post something, though!

Good luck with prelims! xo Sf

Comment by sublimefemme

Glad you accepted the challenge and a great list!
My “day job” is a total front too – I’d like nothing more than to be a farmer’s wife! Of course as well as taking very good care of my woman, I’d be productive and make & sell things and baking would certainly be part of that so do let me know if there’s ever an apprenticeship going at Two Tough Cookies! QRx

Comment by QueerRose

I am with you on 5. I incorporate old style slang for everything. Latest project: “Bang” as in “I’d totally bang her.”

Comment by Bevin

YUMMY! Cream Puffs!

BB
X

Comment by Bucth Boo

On the contrary, I NEED to have my feet covered to sleep, but I prefer to have one leg exposed. The result? Waking up with sheets wrapped around my legs.

Comment by Jessie

Number 10 makes me all grinny. Well, all of them do really, but I like 10.

Comment by J.D. Bauchery




Leave a Reply

