Femme FATale


R.I.P. Bettie Page
December 12, 2008, 1:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

bettiepage7

Such sad news that Bettie Page has passed away. She has always been, in my head, a bit of a femme icon – at least aesthetically. Though I’ve never heard or read of her having partners other than cisgendered men, she knew how to work fishnets, thick-cut bangs, and stilettos better than most. Bettie, if not in her own personal sexual practices, was a bit queer because of the nature of her work that started out as mere pin-ups, but quickly transitioned to fetish modeling that included bondage and spanking shoots. Most of these latter photos were of her with other women.

Last summer, I was on a road trip with my family. My dad was passed out asleep and my mom, grandma, and I were playing a game in order to pass time. One of us chose a famous person they would embody and the other two would have to ask questions to find out who they were. I chose Bettie Page once and my mom and grandma were guessing for nearly 30 minutes before they gave up. When I enthusiastically yelled, “Bettie Page!” they both looked at me all confused. Neither had any idea who she was.

For someone so “notorious,” it seems that Bettie Page’s revival and now legacy will go on living in the hearts of very particular subcultures. I’m glad that she’s a little bit part of mine.

R.I.P., Bettie Mae.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

She will be missed!

Comment by cocoyea

I can’t believe we lost her and now, just a few days ago, Eartha Kitt. But you’re right; they will live on in our hearts.

Wishing you peace & love in the new year.

xo
SF

Comment by sublimefemme

Wow, i had no idea until I came across your (excellent) blog. I recently watched a documentary on Bettie Page that was excellent – what a babe, so comfortable in her skin, such a role model for vivaciousness. Thanks for posting this piece. Yer a babe.

Comment by Rambling Rose




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

